Home > Animation, Festivals, Polish Animation, Video > Summertime by Cyprian Piwowarski (2009)

Summertime by Cyprian Piwowarski (2009)


I want summer and I need summer. Badly. I want 30C all day long. I want a shadow in a shadow of a tree, not necessarily of clouds. Just my personal whim for today… 

And to some degree I think the today’s animation refers to the season in question – not only because of its title. Do you know that straw type of summer day when the sun is left alone in the sky and everything is about to catch fire just from blind warm sunny light? Piwowarski’s Summertime is, first of all… straw, I would say, in its atmosphere as well as in the way the characters are drawn. Not much sun in it though, however to me, despite its sentimental story, it feels the holiday laziness which lets you free from everyday life you might get bored with (accidentally!).

The film got the Jury’s Award in student category at this year’s OFAFA Festival in Cracow, Poland.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

